The News-Review

A Service of the News Bureau of the Government of the Twelve Colonies

WHO WEARS THE UNIFORM? Profile of a Colonial Warrior.

Posted by Fleet News Service on December 26, 2007

 By Geranna Aeon

IN this continuing series, we profile the fighting men and women of the fleet.

She’s shy, she’s military to the core and she’s one of the people who trains our new Viper Pilots (Nuggets).  But for the Gods’ sakes, don’t talk about religion.  Meet Jr Lieutenant Kazimie Alderson.

kazimie-alderson.jpg

“I’m not one for talking much about my past.  I was born in the northern hemisphere of Picon, my father a lawyer was himself raised on Picon but my mother was a Geminese cleric. I originally attended University to study medicine but after an argument with my mother, I dropped out and joined the military academy on Picon.  I don’t get on well with religious people or those that take chamalla extract”.

The Fleet’s nuggets are in good company when in the experienced hands of Kazimie, who was on a Raptor search and rescue training exercise in orbit above Picon when fleet headquarters was nuked by the Cylons. “Fortunately, the radiation interference prevented us from being spotted until they left. We spent alot of time picking bodies out of wrecked battlestars and vipers before we were ordered to Jump to emergency RV coordinates where we met up with the Pacifica”.

Lt Alderson says she loves her new role.  She likes her Viper almost as much as her Nuggets. “I like the freedom to be able to move freely with a Viper and also help nuggets with basic skills. The only thing bad about it is when i get shot up or have to discipline pilots for misbehavior”.

The job certainly has more than it’s fair share of risks.  Kazimie still vividly recalls the most terrifying moment of her time aboard the Pacifica when Cylon Raiders boarded the ship and cornered her in the hangar.  Luck of the Gods was on her side that day because although she her pistol jammed and she was defenceless and totally at their mercy, the Cylon did not shoot her.  “I had heard stories about personnel being abducted and what happened to a fellow pilot and friend of mine when she was captured. Fortunately a Marine squad destroyed the Cylon before anything could happen. The only time I actually said, ‘thanks to the Gods’.

The career warrior challenges the wisdom of having a civilian security force as well as a Military.  “I don’t like the idea of a civilian security force running around that can interfere with military operations”.

She says life in the Military can be somewhat lonely at times. Kazimie says she has many friends inside the military, especially with fellow viper pilots.  “My personal life however is not going so well. I’m either training nuggets to fly or assisting in CIC operations and management”. 

And she appeals to civilians to cut the Military a little slack on the social scene.  “Just because I don’t talk to people much does not mean I’m not willing. But with our current situation you can understand if something else has my attention”.

One Response to “WHO WEARS THE UNIFORM? Profile of a Colonial Warrior.”

  1. Ensign Yevka Laws said

    LT Kaz, as I call her, call sign Hawkeye ROCKS!

    She frakked up the cylons in yesterdays engagement.

Leave a comment