The News-Review

A Service of the News Bureau of the Government of the Twelve Colonies

Who Wears the Uniform? Profile of Artemus Carthage.

Posted by Fleet News Service on December 28, 2007

One of our fighting women returned from the dead (almost literally) to fight another day.  Military Affairs reporter Geranna Aeon talks to Marine Artemus Carthage.

“Two years ago, I a day or two after the zero hour attacks, I was found in a comma inside the wreck of Battlestar SYREN”, said Artemus is an almost casual, matter-of-fact way.  “Earlier, Syren had been parked in the ship yard over Scorpia, which was later attacked. When I was found, 1/8 of my bone mass had been ground to dust, leading me to require hours of intensive surgery. I had also lost all memory from before the attack.  After making my recovery, which took only a few months, I was dropped off on Pacifica, where I continued my duties as a colonial marine.  On the subject of where I was born, further research allowed me to discover that I was born on Scorpia, ironic eh? 

The sole survivor of the ill-fated Battlestar Syren is now a medic in the Colonial Marines.  “It’s nice to have some excitement every once a while.  There are always those days when nothing happens and I am bound to treating colds and bruises in the sick bay”.

Concerning Fleet affairs and the up-coming elections, Artemus goes to great lengths to emphasise that she prefers to give politics a wide berth, but the softly-spoken Marine says she feels there is a gap between those who wear the uniform and those who don’t. “I also think the military is being blamed for a lot of things that were are obviously not responsible for – that’s just my opinion”.  But she remains optimistic about our survival prospects.  “As long as everybody learns to play nice, I think the fleet will be fine”.

Leave a Reply

 
